#CampNaNoWriMo — Nearing the End

Time goes by so quick and my time at Camp NaNoWriMo is nearing  the end.  I had meant to blog about the experience more often but time never seemed to be on my side.  It seemed everything I could do to find a good chunk of time each day to sit down and write….  In fact, that’s one of the the thoughts I had the other day…  Once I get going I can come up with a fairly good amount to write.  Maybe not in the thousands, but at least 500, maybe even up towards a thousand.  The hard part, for me, is finding the  uninterrupted time in which to write and (more importantly) get a flow going.  I have found that it sometimes takes a little while for me to get warmed up and get going on my writing.

I’ve actually had a number of random thoughts going through my mind when it came to  the whole NaNoWriMo experience (as well as writing in general).  Early on, I had made the (somewhat rash) decision to up my word count.  Almost immediately I was left wondering why the hell I had done that and what the heck I had been thinking.  Wouldn’t you know that as soon as I start feeling good and confident, because I’m way above my daily goals and all that,  I end up with several days where I either missed writing all together or barely got any done (we’re talking maybe a couple hundred words at best).  The good news is I did get caught up and even seem to be running ahead of my goal a slight bit.

As for  what I’m writing?  Well it’s really just a hodge-podge of samplings that are all romance-based.  Right now my writings are pretty much all over the place but it’s a start that perhaps can lend itself to something more cohesive.  I can’t say what it is but something about joining the camp and having word count goals that you continually update, as well as cabin-mates with which to be accountable to, that makes you really dig deep and get that writing done… Now if I can just keep to it after camp is over.

One thought on “#CampNaNoWriMo — Nearing the End

Leave a Reply

