I wouldn’t feed this to my puppy (Flash Prompt response)

The short story below is written in response to Writer’s Carnival Flash Prompt: Scene Stealer, incuding fly soup  and a little girl with pig-tails, and a puppy.

Molly, a cute little redhead with pig-tails, sat at the table of the family style restaurant.  She dangled her spoon in her soup, her nose wrinkling.

“Sweetheart, What’s the matter?”  Her mother asked, “Why aren’t you eating your soup?”

“Mom it looks like their’s some sort of bug, a fly, floating around in there”  Molly said as she continued to stir her spoon through he soup.

Molly’s mom looked over at Molly’s soup.  Sure enough there was, what looked like, a dead fly floating in the young girl’s soup.  “Excuse me,” Molly’s other said, summoning the young looking waitress over.

“Yes, Can I help you?”  The waitress asked.

“There’s a fly in my soup,” Molly exclaimed before her mother could speak,  “I wouldn’t even feed this to my puppy at home.”

“Molly!!”  Her Mom admonished sternly.

“I’m sorry about that,”  Molly’s mother said to the now stressed looking young waitress.  “As you can see,” she continued, pointing, “there is in fact a fly in my daughter’s soup.”

The waitress looked over at the soup.  “I am so sorry about this,  I’ll get a replacement straight away, Ma’am.”

2 thoughts on “I wouldn’t feed this to my puppy (Flash Prompt response)

Leave a Reply

