Author Interview with G Mitchell Baker

With things getting behind schedule and a tad crazy around here (Wish I could blame the holiday season on this),  It looks like I won’t be getting to this months Thursday Book Review (I’ll be returning to that in January).  However, I do have an Author Interview for you.

This time around my interview is with G Mitchell Baker, author of Soccer Tommies and Baseball Mommies
soccertommies

Tell the readers when it was that you first know you wanted to be a writer and why? What, or what events, decided this journey for you?

Writing became a curiosity when I realized it was something my father wanted to do before he died early on our lives. Then I started writing fiction to balance my writing technically as a lawyer. I wrote as a hobby and in private for about fifteen years, before some author friends and clients encouraged me to submit novels into the public domain. Within 30 days, I had a five year and three year deal with two different publishers. What has kept me in the public domain is the very positive experience I have had with my third publisher, Master Koda Select Publishing.

What Inspires your writing?

Today, as it was in the beginning, writing is something I enjoy doing no matter what is going on in the rest of my life. It is my ‘go-to’ activity. An activity I can always feel comfortable with regardless of everything else going on. I guess the inspiration is that there is such an activity available… to look forward to in the course of living life both publicly and privately.

What do you like to do while you are writing to help you write (other than writing)?

I tend to insist on lots of natural light when I am writing. My typical drink when writing is sweetened coffee.

Do you have a favorite beverage to drink while writing?

My typical drink when writing is sweetened coffee.

What advice would you give to those who think they might want to be a writer?  And also to those who already know and have just started out on the journey of writing?

Few realize how much work is involved. Even when the author takes on the fullest of responsibility for producing and submitting a strong manuscript (substantive and technical)

The rest of the publishing/marketing team will have a lot of work and effort to contribute as well. My ‘advice’ for all authors who expect to be published (it’s actually a privilege) is to respect the process and those who choose to engage with you in the process of producing works for the public. If that is accomplished, the public will respond to the mutual respect with a very nice respect as well. It can be a wonderful experience.

Tell us a little bit about the very first book you wrote (or remember writing).  Briefly, what was it about  and why/what made you decide to write it?

My first novel will never see the light of day. One working title was ‘Terrier’ … a play on the term terror. The working title thereafter was ‘Breath in the Bullet’. The work was a cliché driven story about FBI agents and domestic terrorism that was a lawyers writing (me), who had certain experiences. And while the work was not created by a heeled writer of fiction, I was writing about what I knew (which was good). It took many years to begin to write good fiction and to unlearn writing as a lawyer. Thankfully, I stuck with it and continue to learn how to write better with each session.

Tell us about the latest book you wrote.  Briefly, what was it about and why/what made you decide to write it.  Also what makes this book different, in your mind, than your first book.

Just submitted to Master Koda Select Publishing is the third novel in the Lethal Believers series entitled ‘Cave Ravens’. Malachi Danta, an obsessed paederast hunter is joined by key actors in Greek mythology to battle those who would set out to harm The Innocents. This fast paced novel has an energized funeral procession that races through various settings and dimensions as a growing, discerning flock of ravens closely observes.

Any new or upcoming books in the works? Briefly, what is it about and why/what made you decide to write it.  Also what makes this book different, in your mind.

Master Koda Select Publishing has asked me to prepare a submission based on the original publication of the young adult novel “Kerby ‘Webb’ Webster & Kinny the Rodeo Hound”.  This story is about a grandfather who takes in his grandson after both parents perish in a car accident. The broke down cowman and the urban teen end up riding a ‘lucky’ streak that takes them on a quirky adventure that ultimately helps them define their new family.

Anything else you want to add that I didn’t ask about?

Tena I want to thank you for inviting me to this interview. I enjoyed the questions and hope my responses can be both helpful and entertaining.  Hope all stays well with you through this holiday season and wish you the very best in the New Year ahead. Cheers…

Where can people connect with you?

Facebook:

G Mitchell Baker

G Mitchell Baker Author

Soccer Tommies Baseball Mommies

Lethal Believers Novels

 

Twitter

LinkedIn

Amazon Author Page

Thank you to your readers for taking the time to check this out and to you Tena for being kind enough to want to share my story. 🙂

One thought on “Author Interview with G Mitchell Baker

Leave a Reply

