Author Interview with Jane Carroll (and of course Bertha)

By now you’ve probably started to wonder if I was planning on doing anymore “Author Interviews”…  The answer is yes.  I’m doing my best to work out a schedule that times for reading and for blogging (and writing).  I won’t bore you with the details of all that vie’s for my attention – some of my own doing, some that of my family.  One thing that has become a big factor is the need to either find work or a way to make money (file that under: easier said than done)…  Unfortunately Blogging, Writing, and Social Media venues don’t {Dammit, I hate when a word I want slips away} don’t bring in money…  But you’re not hear to listen to me wine about the financial woes of my family (and likely some of you are in the same exact boat)….

Recently I’ve been reading Jane Carroll’s book Becoming Bertha which I’ll be featuring in my Thursday Review this month).   And we can’t forget Her first Bertha Book:  Bertha-Size Your Life

becoming bertha

Ms. Carroll was nice enough to answer a few questions a while back for which I would like to thank her for taking the time to do so.

Tell the readers when it was that you first know you wanted to be a writer and why? What, or what events, decided this journey for you?

I really don’t remember a defining moment which created the desire to write I know that started sometime in my teenage years. But it was after my daughters were grown and away in college that I seriously began to want to write a book. I guess I just finally had the time and space to write and I haven’t stopped since.

What inspires your writing?

I write life lessons and I am inspired by any and everything from cleaning the gutters to riding my bicycle up a hill…there’s always a deeper lesson lurking.

What do you like to do while you are writing to help you write (other than writing)?

I can’t say that I do anything in particular to help me write. Although, I am a multitasker so I’m usually doing several other things at the same time… like the laundry or cooking. I’ve moved my desk into the kitchen which has really been a great thing as it makes it easier to tend to dinner and capture a few words.

Do you have a favorite beverage to drink while writing?

I’ve mostly drank water for the past five years or so…sometime with lemon or lime and sometimes plain. I enjoy my very weak coffee in the early morning and that’s about it.

What advice would you give to those who think they might want to be a writer?  And also to those who already know and have just started out on the journey of writing?

Writing is just that…a journey. It is so easy to fall into the mindset that you are going to write a first draft and it will become an immediate bestseller. My advice is…don’t skip the major steps…like the editing process. Working with a great editor makes all the difference in the world. It may slow down the process and cost a bit of money upfront but it is well worth it.

Tell us a little bit about the very first book you wrote (or remember writing).  Briefly, what was it about  and why/what made you decide to write it?

When my youngest daughter got married I thought I’d write a book of self-discovery for women who were experiencing an empty nest. It’s like one day your full identity is your children and the next day…you don’t have a clue whom you are. I started on a collection of exercises…they mostly began with…get quiet and make a list. The only thing about it was…it was boring. Thankfully this zany character, Bertha, took over the book and these uninspired exercises became lively vignettes with Bertha, in spandex and high-heels, perched on a soapbox teaching fun lessons about Law of Attraction and getting to know yourself…and Bertha-Size Your Life! was born.

Tell us about the latest book you wrote.  Briefly, what was it about and why/what made you decide to write it.  Also what makes this book different, in your mind, than your first book.

Becoming Bertha is the sequel to Bertha-Size and it picks up where the original book left off. Bertha is still up to her zany antics and outfits that could have her picture posted on Facebook as ‘what not to wear’ but Honey is really coming into herself and discovering that she’s a lot more like Bertha than she ever would have guessed.

Any new or upcoming books in the works?  Briefly, what is it about and why/what made you decide to write it.  Also what makes this book different, in your mind.

K.D. Emerson and I are kicking around a cozy mystery featuring Bertha and a cast of teenagers, some great shoes, and of course a pesky cat… no book would be complete without a cat. We’re hoping to get started on it by the end of the year.

Anything else you want to add that I didn’t ask about?

I would love to invite everyone to visit my blog. I write there several days each week and Bertha usually makes herself known when I do. This is a great way to see if you are comfortable with my writing style and if the life lessons Bertha shares resonate with you. I am also a life coach and love working with women who are ready to take the next step in self-discovery or who just need a nudge in the right direction…of course Bertha joins me there as well. 

Tena, I would like to thank you so much for including me and Bertha on your blog. It has been a privilege and an honor to share a bit about me and my writing with you and your readers. 

Where can people connect with you? 

Website http://www.janecarrollauthor.com

Twitter  https://twitter.com/janecarroll10

Facebook https://facebook.com/janecarrollauthor

Facebook https://facebook.com/berthagratitude

Amazon Author  http://www.amazon.com/Jane-Carroll/e/B007M0TY44

Google  https://plus.google.com/u/0/111626067284485985128/posts

Goodreads  https://www.goodreads.com/JaneCarroll

Linkedin  www.linkedin.com/pub/jane-carroll/50/610/535/

One thought on “Author Interview with Jane Carroll (and of course Bertha)

Leave a Reply

