#AtoZChallenge: #ShortStory – Letter F

With this post, I am finally caught up  – *Phewwww*

Words for the AtoZ Challenge are randomly chosen using Random.Org.  Words used for letter F are:

  • FFeature
  • Fair Shake
  • Freak
  • Fetching
  • Flatfoot

 

Fran couldn’t help but be frustrated.  Her boss had given her another dead-end, low level assignment.  She was to write an article about the problems of having flatfoot.  Seriously?  Hadn’t  she proven herself yet?  Hadn’t she written  enough freak articles to show that she was capable of so much more than what she was being given.

Forcing herself to think clearly and not act on emotion, Fran decided to contact her boss about the assignment.

“Look,” Fran said after dispensing with the niceties, “I am more than willing to take on and complete this assignment.”  She was willing to show that she could be a team player and do what was asked of her.  “But I would like a fair-shake at something a little more complex. than the assignments I’m being given.  I really think I can handle something bigger if you give me a chance.”

“I tell you what” Fran’s boss said, “You write me a fetching article for this assignment and and I’ll see that you get a stab at being a team member on one of our feature articles.

“Thank You Sir.”  Fran replied shaking his hand, “I promise I won’t let you down.”

And She wouldn’t.

****************************************************

Join Me in the month of April as I write “Alphabet stories” each day featuring a different letter from A to Z for the A to Z Challenge.

6 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: #ShortStory – Letter F

  1. Welcome to Two Shoes Tuesday! You have done a remarkable job of taking a hodgepodge of words and weaving them into a story that works and doesn’t seem forced. This is not often true, and was delighted to see it done so well! And I agree, she should indeed be given an opportunity, and I suspect she will prove herself worthy. We all deserve a chance to learn and grow! I hope you’ll be back to join us next Tuesday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the important thing about writing is to enjoy it yourself. I like how your story revolves about that theme. However as this is my first time visit to your blog I will add that coffee helps but you already knew that didn’t you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Of course 😉 and Thank you for reading. At present, it seems each letter will be it’s own – stand alone – story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

