#AtoZChallenge: #ShortStory – Letter I

  • Words for the AtoZ Challenge are randomly chosen using Random.Org.  Words used for letter I are:  
  • IItem
  • Invincible
  • Intrude
  • Immovable
  • Imply

“Excuse me, Ingrid,”  Cassandra spoke sticking her head into Ingrid’s office.  Ingrid looked up from her computer.  “Yes?”  Ingrid inquired. 

“I know you’re busy, and I don’t mean to intrude,” Cassandra replied.  Ingrid indicated that Cassandra should go ahead.

“There’s some guy out front saying he needs to speak to you about some item…..  Says his name is Ryan and that you’d know who he was.”

“Item?” Ingrid asked.

Cassandra shrugged her shoulder as if to indicate she had no idea.  “He refuses to say any more, saying he’ll only talk to you.”

Ingrid sighed, “All right,” she replied, “Show him back.”  Cassandra nodded and turned sharply towards the front of the office.  Ingrid returned her attention back to her computer.

A moment later the door to her office was pushed open again.  Once again Ingrid looked up.  This time a tall male figure filled the doorway to her small office.  Ingrid indicated he should come in and shut the door.  Immediately she regretted the request.  The office seemed suddenly quite a bit smaller as Ryan’s large form filled it.

Ingrid struggled to gain her composure, to appear professional despite the fact that her heart was beating wildly in her chest.

“Ryan,”  she managed, “What brings you here?  I mean you could have called first and made an appointment.  It’s not like I don’t have things to get done.”

Ryan walked over to Ingrid’s desk, placing a photograph down on it before walking over to the window and looking out it for a brief moment.  Ingrid took the opportunity to glance down and study the photo.

“Look,” he replied, as he turned back to face Ingrid, “I don’t mean to imply that you have nothing to do.  I just….  To be honest, I didn’t think about making an appointment.  The last time we spoke was on such bad terms, I guess I didn’t figure you’d be interested in talking to me or helping me out….”

“Helping you?”  Ingrid inquired….

“Yes,”  Ryan responded, “You see,  My ex-girlfriend declined visitation rights to our baby daughter.  I tried to talk to her but she’s been completely immovable…..”

“And how exactly am I suppose to be able to help?.”  Ingrid asked.

“I’m getting there,” Ryan  said, then taking a breath he continued, “I’m planning on petitioning for custody on grounds that my ex-girlfriend is not fit for parentage.

“Custody?”

“Yes….  Custody…  And I need your help to prove, or disprove, my suspicions”

“You do realize that even if I do uncover something, assuming I am able to find anything…”

“Ohhh I have no doubt you will.  The photo I just gave you shows at least one example of my suspicions and I have more….”

“I was going to say,” Ingrid continued, “That the legal journey ahead of you will be  daunting.”

“I know,”  Ryan sighed.  “It’s already been an uphill battle.  You see, shortly after I tried talking to my ex-girlfriend, I became aware of something that upped my suspicions that my daughter could be in some danger of neglect.  I decided to take my suspicions to my lawyer…   It seems that my ex-girlfriend has got herself hooked up with some important guy who is invincible when it comes to legal proceedings.  I’m going to need some heavy duty proof if I”m going to have any chance of getting custody and giving my daughter a chance at having a normal childhood.

  • ***************************************************************
  • Join Me in the month of April as I write “Alphabet stories” each day featuring a different letter from A to Z for the A to Z Challenge.
Leave a Reply

