Fire (Picture it and Write)

Taking part in Ermilia’s “Picture it and Write” challenge:

The Photo to Inspire:

dark-allyway

Acrid smoke filled the hallway of the apartment complex where Barbara lived.    She was filled with a moment of terror as the realization that the fire escapes were now blocked.  But only for a moment.  There wasn’t time for any more than moment  and even that had lost her valuable time.  Thinking quickly, she shut the door to her apartment and grabbed all the towels she could find, got them wet and stuffed them around the bottom of the door.

Once the towels were in place, Barbara picked up her phone to dial 9-1-1 but the lines were dead….  Her only hope now was that the fire department had been notified of the fire.  Several moments later, smoke began to seep into her apartment through the doorway, despite the towels she had placed there.  Barbara lay down covered her nose and mouth with one of her old t-shirts, laid down on the floor, and waited….

3 thoughts on “Fire (Picture it and Write)

  1. Well written and a very interesting challenge… Never heard of it before but now I want to do one. I’ve followed and ill be sure to check out some of your other posts. I’m a fellow writer myself and would love to get your feedback on some of my posts if you have time. I’m working on a novel currently and I post short stories on my blog. If not, thanks anyway, have fun writing and keep it up 🙂

    Like

  2. To: My big “Sister”,
    …and?? LOL I’m dying to hear “Barb’s” rescue!! (Hopefully) 🚨🚒🚔🚑🚨 🙂
    My friend you have got one hell of a gift when it comes to writing stories, especially public safety related ones!!👍🏻
    As always, thank you for being a super supporter of us; Law Enforcement Officers, Firefighters, Paramedics, and Members of the U.S. Armed Forces!! HOOYAH TENA!!
    🙏🏻You’re Little “Big” Brother Always,
    -SGT BLUE

    P.S. You know who 😇 can’t wait for another “love/romance” story LOL..Hell me too!!😋BTW ANYONE READING, FOLLOW THIS INCREDIBLY GIFTED AND CREATIVE WRITER, TENA..You WILL NOT be dissapointed!!😃..Plus, yes a happily married and U.S. Mil SOF Soldier & LEO/SWAT Operator-Tac Medic CAN truly thoroughly enjoy Tena’s “love” stories, especially ones that -hit home- so to speak😉and still stay & be a hell of strong warfighter, going hard everyday-somethin I thought impossible for years, but brothers who don’t believe like I use to..You might be amazingly shocked the two CAN mix & if it takes a dear friend to show you that as it did me, just give it a shot please. You might see you’re not only a better Man, Warfighter, & Husband..but have “that weight” we carry lifted from you by the smallest girl, but “stronger” than you..or at least me in that case.

    Apologies since this probably isn’t the right place to put this. I love my Brothers & Sisters in Arms & PS, and felt I had to say this in hopes even one of you receives just half of what I undeservingly was blessed with. 1* #StaySafe #LeadTheWay #Brotherhood

    **Check ALL this writer’s pages..
    They’re flat out awesome**

    Like

Leave a Reply

