#WeekendCoffeeShare: 2015, Nov 1 – NaNoWriMo & Camp thoughts

National Novel Writing Month (known as NaNoWriMo – or even NaNo, I guess) officially starts today.  I know many writers have already started writing about it giving tips & advice.  The only advice I can bring to the table is to try not to get overwhelmed…  Take each day one at a time and don’t hit yourself over the head if you don’t quite make the numbers.  I’m not saying don’t strive and do best to reach the goal of, what is it 50,000 words (minimum) for the month but remember this isn’t life or death.  Do your best, that’s all you can really do, right?!?….   Speaking of 50,000, let’s break that down for you shall we….  50,000 divided by 30 days, that’s….. around 1,666 words each day (you’ll end up needing to write about 20 extra words on that last day or so somewhere in the month).  That’s actually not that bad if you have something to write, which  I do not but then that’s why I’m not doing NaNoWriMo myself.

Heck even Camp NaNaWriMo, which is a lot less strict and allows for a let lower goal in regards to word count (something like 10,000 words), was difficult for me to manage this last time around.  I only managed to get in 4,880 words (out of the 12,000 word goal I had set for myself).  The year before went quite a bit better with 15,000 words.  I think the problem, for me, this year was that  I was trying to write an actual story where as the year before I was just doing individual micro stories each day…  In fact, my writing project for the last Camp NaNoWriMo (back in July) is still sitting on my computer pretty well untouched.  To be honest I haven’t gone back to it since “Camp” ended.   I posted some excerpts from the story in both Camp NaNoWriMo as well as in Romance.

I’m kinda hoping I can get back into some writing – at least doing some writing challenges.  Right now it seems like I’m juggling a lot of stuff…  Family needs, Starting my own business as an Independent Beauty Consultant with Mary Kay (check out my personal website and my Facebook page), plus keeping up with my Public Safety Tidbits stuff…  And I don’t see this  changing or letting up anytime soon.

Well, that’s that for now…  Hopefully I’ll get some more writing here.  Have a wonderful day and May the Muse be with You.

3 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare: 2015, Nov 1 – NaNoWriMo & Camp thoughts

  1. I can understand that you are too busy for the challenge, starting your own business is time-consuming. I won’t have time this year either, but I am doing the blog version of the challenge, which is a heck of a lot easier to follow through upon, when time restraints are at hand. Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

