A Monster

This is my story for Rochelle’s Friday Fiction.  Photo Credit for this week’s photo goes to J Hardy Carroll.  (Unfortunately, I am not able to save or copy the picture but if you go to the above link you will be able to see it.)


“Who’s out there?” An angry voice growled, “I thought I told you hooligans to leave.”

“Please sir, I’m sorry.” A small voice trembled. “I was trying to get my kite back.”“A likely story. You probably thought you could sneak a peak at a monster, like the other hooligans.”

“No sir, I’m sure you are no monster. You’d sound nice if you weren’t so gruff.”

“That is kind of you to say but I’m sure you wouldn’t be if you could see me.”

“Perhaps if I could…”

A burn-scarred face peeked out.

The girl gasped, then bravely approached the older man.

Leave a Reply

